LATEST NATURAL DISASTERS IN INDONESIA


Serial Quakes Rock Indonesia , 22 Feb 2008
February 22, 2008, 11:03 am
Filed under: Earthquake

A series of earthquakes with magnitude of 5.8 and 5.7 respectively rattled western and eastern parts of Indonesia on Friday morning, but no report of damage or casualties, meteorology agency said in Jakarta.

The 5.8 magnitude quake struck at 06:55 Jakarta time (2355GMT) with epicenter at 194 kilometers southwest Muko town of Bengkulu and at 27 kilometers in depth, an official of the agency said.

The other quake shoot at 04:41 Jakarta time (2141GMT) with epicenter at 163 kilometers northwest Jayapura of Papua province in easternmost of the country and at 10 kilometers in depth, the official said.

Twenty three people were killed and thousands of buildings were destructed in September 2007 after a 7.9 Richter scale quake, that was potential for tsunami, rocked Bengkulu province in Sumatra Island of western Indonesia.

In 2004, over 170,000 people were killed in Aceh province in northern tip of Sumatra Island after a tsunami triggered by a powerful quake devastated coastal areas of the province and other countries in southeast Asia.

Indonesia is laid at a vulnerable zone so called “the Pacific Ring of Fire” where two continental plates, stretching from the Western Hemisphere through Japan and Southeast Asia, meet that cause frequent volcanic movements.


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s



%d bloggers like this: